Come on, P!NK, Seriously?

Uncategorized

I was so excited to buy P!nk’s “Truth About Love” concert DVD. In part because she puts on a great show and in part because I recently saw that particular concert at the Staples Center with some good friends. So, I was a bit curious when I saw she had a “bluegrass” version of “Slut Like You”. Nothing could have prepared me for the level of offensive disrespect I saw in that video. It was disgusting and totally failed at being funny.

In the video, it showed “funny” caricatures of hillbillies. Among them were her band and dancers with blacked-out teeth,  women were “pregnant” and drinking beer some of them seeming underage. They were “yucking it up” in every offensive way imaginable. The only thing missing was obvious incest. 

I just cannot understand how mocking hillbillies is any different than dressing as queens and mocking the LGBT community, or mocking any other whole group of people. Or maybe someone can explain how this is different than if they had all put on black face and mocked African Americans?

Maybe it is because we collectively think we are smarter than hillbillies and therefore they deserve to be mocked.

No group of people DESERVE to be mocked. Let me just say that I am a fairly liberal progressive and I do not watch “Duck Dynasty” or “Honey Boo Boo”, I do not know any hillbillies or “red necks” but I would like to think that am mature enough to treat them with human dignity, as I would any other group being attacked unfairly.

Of course this seems to be her attitude toward people who believe tolerance should be for everyone and not just a pet group of people:  this was re-tweeted by @Pink:

Image

I guess she was talking about hillbillies.

This is depressing coming from someone like P!NK who gives lip service to tolerance and love toward others. There is a reason that I usually avoid learning personal beliefs or values of my favorite entertainers. I do not watch TMZ or read most interviews so that I can continue to enjoy their work. This is why. It was sad for me to learn that P!NK is klassy with a k.

One thought on “Come on, P!NK, Seriously?

  1. It’s always saddening to see somebody alot of people look up to and admire is indirectly discriminating anybody.

    But it’s all about how the other person sees it. We have a group of people working with me and my team at the moment and they have a dodgy accent. It’s started to rub off on us and some have found it hilarious and others offensive. Although we don’t know we have this twang when we say certain things it’s still our fault for offending them somehow xXx

Leave a Reply

